177 Dryburgh Street

177 Dryburgh Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer: Stephen Hatcher 2022

Also known as The Shakespere Hotel [11) 1862- 1986/7, renamed Oasis Oz 1987
Previous Address 177-179 was previously known as 73-75 Dryburgh Street, North Melbourne Source: from the 1895 MMBW map
Constructed
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

1983

Photographer: Graeme Butler


Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan
  3. record of the 1859 Crown land sale

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

The historic two storey Victorian hotel built on this site in 1887 was demolished and a four storey block of 26 flats replaced it.

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
11/6/1859 Mr. George Henry Knight, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1965 1974 J. Watkins, Shakespear Hotel source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1940 1960 Mrs. M. B. Moore, Shakespear Hotel source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1935 1935 James M. Hoare, Shakespear Hotel http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article11917645 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1930 1930 Patrick Connelly, Shakespear Hotel source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1925 1925 Mrs. Sarah J. Hughes, Shakespear Hotel http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article3730013 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1915 1920 Edward A. Sullivan, Shakespear Hotel (number changed to 73) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1910 1910 Miss. B. Ryan, Shakespear Hotel source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1888 1905 Mrs. Margaret Ryan, Shakespear Hotel http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article8587629 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin

Social History

Look down to The Shakespere Hotel [11) 1862- 1986/7, renamed Oasis Oz 1987-

George Knight was the first licensee of The Shakespere, a stone building of 10 rooms, bar, kitchen and stables. In 1865, William Ryan, who had been the first licensee of the Rose of Hotham, moved here and the Shakespere had, Ryans as licensees until 1910. As far as the name Shakespere or Shakespeare is concerned, William Shakespeare has been identified as using several different spellings of his own name.

As well as being a pub, the Oasis Oz has in more recent times played an important role as a high-turnover drive-in bottle shop.

652 Queensberry Street

In the 1930’s, this was Hannaford’s, a ham and beef shop usually retained for retail user but being remodelled at the time of publication.

Hannafords was at the centre of a small and very local community. Nancy Maclntosh (who has lived nearby in the same house since c.1934) remembers that as a child, she was often sent out to buy small amounts of butter from Hannaford’s. Whether that was because the family could not afford more or because they had a Coolgardie safe and not an ice-chest or a fridge, she does not know.

Historic Pubs of North Melbourne by Hotham History Project.

source: Hotham History Project



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

Other Information

[93]

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au