207 Dryburgh Street

207 Dryburgh Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer: Stephen Hatcher 2022

Also known as
Previous Address 207 was previously known as 93 Dryburgh Street, North Melbourne Source: from the 1895 MMBW map
Constructed
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

2018

source: http://maps.melbourne.vic.gov.au/


Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan
  3. record of the 1859 Crown land sale

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

The Victorian dwelling on this land was demolished in the 1970s and replaced by a brick factory.

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
11/6/1859 Mr. George Henry Knight, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1970 1974 Nash AR P/L, builders source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1965 1965 J. J. Milligan source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1950 1960 Mrs. Cath McInerney source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1930 1945 John and Catherine McInerney http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article22383004 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1920 1925 Reginald T. Baker source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1915 1915 John W. and Louise Sutton (number changed to 93) http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article199430916 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1900 1910 Arthur Thorpe source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1895 1895 W. Dormer Stone source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1890 1890 John Ashman source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1885 1885 Mrs. Ann Byers source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1858 http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article7146006 source: The Argus

Social History



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

Other Information

[93]

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au