226 Errol Street

226 Errol Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer: Stephen Hatcher

Also known as
Previous Address 226 previously known as 162 Errol Street, North Melbourne Source: from the 1895 MMBW map

Timelapse Building Images


source: http://maps.melbourne.vic.gov.au/



photographer Karl Halla

Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW Map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features

    No Entries Found

Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes


From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
Mr. Hugh Gault Breakey, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index


From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1965 1974 J. Spena source: Hatcher Index
1960 1960 T. Muratore source: Hatcher Index
1955 1955 D. E. Fosdick source: Hatcher Index
1945 1950 William Gunter source: Hatcher Index
1910 1940 Ernest Breakey (house number changed to 162 in 1935) source: Hatcher Index
1905 1905 Ernest Fairless source: Hatcher Index
1900 1900 Andrew Allan Bull and Ada Whitehill Bull nee Breakey https://my.rio.bdm.vic.gov.au/efamily-history/62a543005a237c2160a871e3/record/5c6551c64aba80ac31e375a6?q=efamily&givenName=Andw%20Allan&familyName=BULL source: Hatcher Index
1895 1895 Donald MacKenzie source: Hatcher Index
1890 1890 Mrs. Gertrude May source: Hatcher Index
1886 1889 Richard and Gertrude May source: Hatcher Index
1885 1885 John Gardiner source: Hatcher Index
1884 1884 Nicholas Boswarva source: Hatcher Index
1880 1883 Mrs. Elizabeth Breakey, nee Swan source: Hatcher Index
1875 1875 James Chambers source: Hatcher Index
1868 1870 Hugh Gault Breakey and Mrs. Elizabeth Breakey, nee Swan source: Hatcher Index

Social History

Hugh Gault Breakey was christened in 1829 at County Monaghan, Ireland, eleventh born of fourteen children of John Breakey and Elizabeth Small.

In December 1855, Hugh emigrated from Ireland and arrived at Hobsons Bay onboard the Albatross along with 73 passengers in steerage and 8 other passengers in cabins.

Hugh Gault Breakey, carter (1829-1873) married Irishwoman, Elizabeth Swan (1846-1938) in Melbourne in 1865 and began their life together, and gave birth to four children.

Hugh was the first Crown land purchaser of lot 8 of section 80, in Hotham, on the corner of Errol, Chapman and Murphy Streets.

But only eight short years after his marriage, Hugh died in 1873 at 44 years of age.

Thirteen years after Hugh’s death, Elizabeth Breakey, nee Swan married John Campbell in 1886. They lived for a period of time at number 63 Hawke Street, West Melbourne where Elizabeth’s daughter Ada Whitehill Breakey married her husband, John Charles Pain, a builder (1861-1927) in 1889, they lived in Kensington.

But John and Ada’s marriage was to be cut short. In 1892 John sued Ada for divorce on the grounds of her desertion.

Ada Pain (1868-1947) remarried Andrew Alan Bull in 1893.

Researched by Stephen Hatcher 2022.

source: The Leader and The Weekly TImes

Context and Streetscape

The property is situated within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

This information must be verified with the relevant planning or heritage authority.


Other Information


Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au