237 Errol Street

237 Errol Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer, Sue Scarfe
Also known as
Previous Address
Constructed after 1865
Style Victorian, Mid: 1860-1875
Architect
Builder brothers James, John & Albert Thurgood

Timelapse Building Images

2012

http://maps.melbourne.vic.gov.au/

Land Details

1. 1895 MMBW Map

2. Compiled Crown Record Plan

3. First crown land purchaser – 21/10/1865, Mr. James Thurgood contractor, North Melbourne.

John Thomas Weir purchased land on the corner of Haines and Errol Streets. Weir was married to James Thurgoods’ older sister, Eleanor and they had arrived in Melbourne in the late 1850s. John Weir was a timber merchant, and he set up a timber yard on a portion of the land while James and  his brother, John Joseph Thurgood carpenter, built 235 & 237 homes that the would live in for so many years. Another brother, Albert Thurgood arrived in Melbourne in the early 1860s, and he also resided in Haines Street for a time in the 1870s. The two families had quite the enclave there and had the construction industry all sewn up. Apparently a lane which was used for timber deliveries is still there. Now known as Weir’s lane.

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features


  • Roof
    Slate

    photographer Stephen Hatcher


  • Chimney
    Terracotta

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Path
    Bluestone

    photographer Stephen Hatcher


  • Windows
    Timber

    photographer Stephen Hatcher


  • Fence
    Timber

    photographer Stephen Hatcher


  • Roof
    Slate

    photographer Stephen Hatcher


  • Chimney
    Brick

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Doors
    Timber

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Hardware
    Other metal

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Fin Wall
    Concrete

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Fin Wall
    Brick

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Walls
    Timber

    photographer Sue Scarfe


  • Gate
    Timber

    photographer Sue Scarfe

Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

No Entries Found

Residents

No Entries Found

Social History

1880 Sands & McDougall Directory showing James living at 237 Errol and brother John at 235 Errol Street next door.

Sands & McDougall directory



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property resides within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

This streetscape contains a collection of historic Victorian homes. The homes are socially and historically significant buildings for the early development of North & West Melbourne in their own right.

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au