409 Abbotsford Street

409 Abbotsford Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer: Sue Scarfe
Also known as
Previous Address 197 Abbotsford Street (before Council street renumbering)
Constructed
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

1970’s

The building on the left is called Hillside, the residence of James Cooney for many years. The shop next door was his newsagency. Hillside is on the site of Owen’s Plumber Shop, the first plumber in North Melbourne.

North Melbourne Library

Land Details

1. 1895 MMBW Map

2. Compiled Crown Record Plan

3. First crown land purchaser – Mr. Walter Sydenham, lot 7 section 84A.

Mr. Walter Sydenham was a successful Melbourne saddlers ironmonger & manufacturer of saddles, bridles and leather-work who lived in Peel Street Hotham between Victoria & Queensberry Streets in 1867 and later in Lonsdale Street until his passing in 1897.

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features


  • Doors
    Timber

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Building Ornamentation
    Cast Iron

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Building Ornamentation
    Concrete

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Lacework
    Cast Iron

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Building Ornamentation
    Concrete

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Windows
    Glass

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Fin Wall
    Concrete

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Lacework
    Cast Iron

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Building Ornamentation
    Concrete

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Windows
    Glass

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Building Ornamentation
    Timber

    Sue Scarfe photographer


  • Windows
    Glass

    Sue Scarfe photographer

Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

No Entries Found

Residents

No Entries Found

Social History

1974 P. Smith lived above the shop at 409 Abbotsford Street North Melbourne. (Council street renumbering changed this address from 197 to 409)

Sands & McDougall directory


1920 James Cooney operated the shop at 197 Abbotsford Street North Melbourne and lived next door at 195 Abbotsford Street, known as Hillsiide.

Sands & McDougall directory


1890 Pascoe & Johnson lived above the shop at 197 Abbotsford Street North Melbourne.

Sands & McDougall directory



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property resides within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

This streetscape contains a collection of historic Victorian and later Federation buildings. The homes are socially and historically significant buildings for the early development of North & West Melbourne in their own right.

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au