409 Dryburgh Street

409 Dryburgh Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051

Also known as Myra Source: name on the dwelling parapet
Previous Address 409 was previously known as 199 Dryburgh Street, North Melbourne Source: from the 1895 MMBW map
Constructed 1885
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

2004

source: http://maps.melbourne.vic.gov.au/


Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan
  3. record of the 1865 Crown land sale

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
1/11/1865 Mr. John Laurens, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1974 1974 N. G. Muir source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1950 1970 Harold W. Cook source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1950 1965 Cooks Cleaning Services source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1935 1945 Miss. Dorris I. Lowman source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1925 1932 George F. Cummins and Catherine Bridget Cummins, nee Murphy http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article4396176 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1920 1920 William G. Staley source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1915 1915 Mrs. Alma Coburn (number changed to 199) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1905 1910 Bayly A. Coburn source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1899 1900 Michael Mahoney, liscensing inspector http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article228148480 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1890 1895 John Rouse source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin

Social History

1932 Table Talk

TEAGUE—CUMMINS
AN exquisite sheaf of lilies and camellias proved a very charming finish to the bridal toilette of Miss Eileen Mary Cummins, whose marriage to Mr Willis Ernest Teague, the well-known tennis player, was celebrated at St. Michael’s
Church, North Melbourne on Saturday, July 30 The Rev. Father O’Sullivan officiated, and the bride was given away
by her father.
She is the eldest daughter of Mr George Cummins, 409 Dryburgh Street, North Melbourne, and the bridegroom is the second son of Mr and Mrs George William Teague, 14 Regent Street, Elsternwick.
The clinging bridal gown of magnolia tinted crepe romaine was fashioned with a long tight fitting bodice, pin-tucked to the knees, and finished with long sleeves. A band of hand faggotted
embroidery enhanced the neck line. Over the full flared skirt, which was set in graceful panels, fell a handsome veil of Limerick lace, mounted on tulle, and held in place by a coronet of orange blossom. The bride’s sister, Miss Mary Cummins, as bridesmaid, looked very charming in a frock of Edelweiss lace and georgette. Sable fur edged the matching shoulder cape, which terminated in a bow at the waistline, and a lace cap trimmed with autumn tinted leaves and berries was on her hair. She carried a bouquet of tawny shaded flowers.
Mr George Holloway acted as best man.
A reception afterwards took place at Carlyons Hotel, Spencer Street, at which only immediate relatives of the bride and bridegroom were present. The bridegroom’s mother wore a gown of black flat crepe, printed with a floral design, and a hat to match. Her bouquet was of pink carnations.
The bride and bridegroom will make their future home at 66 Orrong Crescent, North Caulfield.

source: Table Talk



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Zoning
This information must be verified with the relevant planning or heritage authority.

Streetscape

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au