43 Dryburgh Street

43 Dryburgh Street
West Melbourne VIC 3003

Also known as
Previous Address 43 was previously known as 40 Dryburgh Street, West Melbourne Source: source: Sands & McDougall directory
Constructed (1st) 1876. (2nd) 1960s. (3rd) after 2014
Style
Architect
Builder (1st) Thomas Southwick

Timelapse Building Images

No Entries Found

Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan
  3. Report of the Crown Land Sale 1858

Building Details

Notice of Intention to Build

Date: 6/7/1876

Number: 6818

Owner/builder Mr. Thomas L. Southwick

Location: Dryburgh Street near Ireland Street

Fee: 1.0.0

Type: Cottage [with its own large private rear garden]

source: Burchett Index


Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

The historic double fronted Victorian dwelling was demolished and replaced by a two storey commercial building in the 1960s. That was replaced by a seven story block, containing 60 flats, with no private back yard garden space, built after 2014.

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
26/11/1858 Mr. John Laurens [Lawrence], first Crown land purchaser https://www.melbournestreets.com.au/laurens-john-1821-1894/ source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1970 1970 McMillan Dstrbtrs P/L, air cmprssrs source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1955 1960 Mrs. H. Simons source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1945 1950 Miss. J. M. Simons source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1935 1940 John E. Simons source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1930 1930 James E. H. Hailes source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1925 1925 Richard Barrett source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1920 1920 Rupert Bloxsome source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1915 1915 Alfred Wallace (house number changed to 40) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1910 1910 Albert G. Riley source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1901 1901 Alfred and Mary Gillard http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article192208005 source: The Age
1900 1900 Mary Williams source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1889 1889 John and Mary Williams source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1895 1895 Frederick Foster source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1879 1890 Thomas L. Southwick source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1876 1878 Amos Bartram source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1875 Edmund and Mary Spencer, nee Conrick http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article7423775 source: The Argus

Social History

John Williams, son of Robert and Mary Williams was an engine driver for Victorian Railways and also the beloved husband of Mary Williams.

source: Births Deaths and Marriages Victoria


Edward [also called Edmund] Spencer was a cab proprietor who once lived in Dryburgh Street, West Melbourne. He was the husband of Mary Spencer, nee Conrick.

source: Births Deaths and Marriages Victoria



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Zoning
This information must be verified with the relevant planning or heritage authority.

Streetscape

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au