510 La Trobe Street

510 La Trobe Street
West Melbourne VIC 3003
photographer: Stephen Hatcher

Also known as
Previous Address
Constructed 1928
Style
Architect Mr Robert J. Haddon and Col. W. A. Henderson
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

No Entries Found

Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW plan

Building Details

A large factory building is now in course of construction at 510-516 Latrobe street, to the order of the Firdaw Engineering Supply Co. Ltd., hardware merchants.
The site was originally ”occupied by a two-storey brick factory and, two semi-detached cottages. These were of interest in having been built of hand-made and wire-cut bricks of early Melbourne.
Tho old buildings have been demolished, and the foundations of the new one laid down.
The new building, for which Mr Robert J. Haddon and Col. W. A. Henderson, F.R.I.B.A,- are the architects, will consist of two extensive floors of warehouse construction to bear heavy loading; the floors being of reinforced concrete, supported, upon heavy concrete columns.
There are offices upon the ground floor, which is well lighted both back and front; a central driveway being arranged from Latrobe street to right-of-way at the rear.
A feature of the lighting at the back is that all windows are so constructed as to resist fire; all doors are also cased in metal sheathing. The roof is of a form known as “saw tooth construction” and allows for and even south (neutral)  light to flood the interior.

source: The Herald 1928


Subsequent Building Alterations

The first Victoria era building was demolished in 1928 and a larger two story factory was constructed taking up 4 housing lots from 510 to 516 Latrobe Street.

link: http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article243943020

source: The Herald 1928

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
1850 Mr John Pascoe Fawkner, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1974 1974 R. Barassi Office Furniture source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1970 1970 G. Vaccari Co P/L agents & Riv Co ball and roller bearings source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1965 1965 Artaco P/L textile importers source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1930 1960 Craftsman Press P/L printers source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1925 1925 Phillip Burgin source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1920 1920 Joseph C. Lewis source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1915 1915 Thomas Dyson source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1910 1910 Michael Newman source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1905 1905 George Short source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.
1890 1900 Mrs. Emma Wheeler source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Stephen Hatcher in 2021.

Social History

No Entries Found


Context and Streetscape

Precinct

This property resides within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au