517 Dryburgh Street

517 Dryburgh Street
North Melbourne VIC 3051
photographer: Stephen Hatcher 2022

Also known as Surrey House Source: http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article10647573
Previous Address 517 was previously known as 283 Dryburgh Street, North Melbourne Source: from the 1895 MMBW map
Constructed
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

2004

source: http://maps.melbourne.vic.gov.au/


Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan
  3. record of the 1866 Crown land sale

Building Details

No Entries Found

Subsequent Building Alterations

No Entries Found

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
29/8/1867 Mr. William Davis, first Crown land purchaser source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1974 1974 G. L. Rowley source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1970 1970 not available source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1965 1965 Students Hostel source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1960 1960 Mrs. D. O’Neill source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1955 1955 C. Zuritta source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1945 1953 Mrs. Rosalie Elizabeth Johns http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article206439151 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1915 1945 Stephen, hardware manufacturer and Mrs. Rosalie Elizabeth Johns (number changed to 283) http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article205988988 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1905 1910 Mrs. M. A. Smith source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1905 1905 Mrs. M. A. Smith and Peter Smith, of Melbourne Harbour Trust http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article10647573 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1900 1900 George T. Trew source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1895 1895 vacant source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1893 http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article8563269 source: The Argus
1890 1890 William Stack source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1880 1885 William Vaughan source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin

Social History



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Zoning
This information must be verified with the relevant planning or heritage authority.

Streetscape

Other Information

[93]

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au