575 Spencer Street

575 Spencer Street
West Melbourne VIC 3003
photographer: Stephen Hatcher, 2018
Also known as Now includes 573 & 575 Spencer after consolidation
Previous Address 579 Spencer known as Short’s Hotel in 1872. Source: http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article197444688
Constructed
Style
Architect
Builder

Timelapse Building Images

When the hotel was originally built, it was known as the Recreation Hotel.

2015

Known as Moomba Hotel

Land Details

1. Alignment details with Hawke and Spencer Streets.

2. 1895 MMBW map

3. Compiled Crown Record Plan

4. First crown land purchaser Mr. A. E. Short, lot 10 section 56.

Building Details

Original floor plan, hand drawn diagram

PROV

Subsequent Building Alterations

1920 Alterations

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

1924 Alterations

Public Records Office of Victoria, Building applications number 6508, 10/7/1924

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Spencer St elevation

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Hawke Street elevation

Public Records Office of Victoria, 1924 building plans

Architectural Features

    No Entries Found

Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
1896 Recreation Hotel was owned by Mr. Timmin North Melbourne Courier and West Melbourne Advertiser 24/4/1896
1924 Mr John Hooper of Abbotsford Street North Melbourne Public Records Office of Victoria, Building applications number 6508, 10/7/1924

Residents

No Entries Found

Social History

1896


1896
In 1896 West Melbourne Harmony and Social Club met on a regular basis at the Recreation Hotel.


1906

North Melbourne Courier and West Melbourne Advertiser 25/5/1906


1908

North Melbourne Courier and West Melbourne Advertiser 14/8/1908


In 1924 it was known as the Recreation Hotel and owned by Mr. John Hooper of Abbotsford Street North Melbourne. At that time application was made to make alterations to the hotel. The Architects were Sydney Smith Ogg & Serpell of 349 Collins Street Melbourne.

PROV


Previously known as the Moomba Hotel


2018 known as McMahons Hotel


From the amazing memory of Leslie Baden Woodland, at the age of 82 in 1982 wrote.

“The old Recreation Hotel or Hoopers in my day was next door to Hugie MacBean’s the Hair dresser”

Jenny Cook


1872 known as Shorts Hotel

The age



Context and Streetscape

Precinct

North and West Melbourne Heritage Precinct and the HO3 (North & West Melbourne Precinct)

This property resides within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Streetscape

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au