29 Dryburgh Street

29 Dryburgh Street
West Melbourne VIC 3003

Also known as
Previous Address 29-33 was also known as 36 Dryburgh Street, West Melbourne before street renumbering. Source: source: Sands & McDougall directory
Constructed (1st) 1865. (2nd) 2015
Style
Architect
Builder (1st) Alexander Oliver. (2nd) unknown

Timelapse Building Images

No Entries Found

Land Details

  1. 1895 MMBW map
  2. Compiled Crown Record Plan

Building Details

Notice of intent to build.

Street: Ireland near corner Ireland and Dryburgh Streets, West Melbourne.

Number: 730.

Date 1/3/1865

Owner: Oliver

Builder: William Watson, Fitzroy.

Fee: £2.0.0

Type: House [with its own private back yard garden]

Other significant building works carried out by William Watson can be found here

 

source: Burchett Index


Subsequent Building Alterations

Substantial Two-Story [sic] Brick House

Well and faithfully built, and forming the residence of the late Mr. Oliver, containing eight rooms; also a large brick stables, workshop, builders sheds, &c.

source The Argus 1890

Architectural Features



    No Entries Found


Heritage Significance and Listings

Heritage Listings and Explanatory Notes

The historic two storey Victorian mansion built by William Watson for Alexander Oliver in 1865 was demolished and a six story block containing 42 flats, with no private back yard garden space, was built there in 2015.

Owners

From To Owner More Info Data Source
to date Private source: Hatcher Index
26/11/1858 Mr. Thomas Mollineaux, first Crown land purchaser http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article154843350 source: Hatcher Index
abt 40 thousand years earlier 1835 Boon Wurrung and Woiwurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Victoria source: Hatcher Index

Residents

From To Resident More Info Data Source
to date Private source Hatcher Index
1974 1974 offices being built source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1960 1970 Apartments source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1955 1955 Mrs. V. Mercieca source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1940 1950 Miss. S. V. Oliver (house 29) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1935 1950 Mrs. Annie Rushton( house 33) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1920 1930 John J. Gleeson (house 33) source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1890 1923 Mrs. Jessie Oliver, nee McNeil (house 29) http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article1886789 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1905 1905 Miss. Septima Viola Oliver, private school source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin
1879 1890 Alexander (contractor) and Mrs. Jessie Oliver, nee McNeil http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article221095176 source: Sands & McDougall directory, transcribed by Anne Cronin

Social History

Alexander H. Oliver. Builder and Contractor.

source The Argus


Thomas Mollineaux was once a manager of Harker’s Bonded Store, Flinders Street, Melbourne, opposite Hobson’s Bay Railway Terminus until 1859.

source: https://prov.vic.gov.au/archive/5995A118-F4EF-11E9-AE98-33A80D21521F?image=3



Context and Streetscape

Precinct
The current property is within the municipality of the City of Melbourne. We respectfully acknowledge it is on the traditional land of the Kulin Nation.
source: https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/SiteCollectionDocuments/history-city-of-melbourne.pdf
historical map source: https://www.slv.vic.gov.au/search-discover/explore-collections-format/maps/maps-melbourne-city-suburbs

Zoning
This information must be verified with the relevant planning or heritage authority.

Streetscape

Other Information

Copyright status: This work is in copyright.
Conditions of use: Use of this work allowed provided the creators name and Hotham History Project Inc are acknowledged.

If you or someone you know has any more to add either by old photos or stories of this area, please contact us today. Email info@hothamhistory.org.au